KIRA Municipality legislator who doubles as opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) spokesman together with the vocal Kampala Central MP Muhammad Nsereko allegedly rejected deployments by the Leader of Opposition to the Shadow Cabinet.
We are reliably told, Mukungwe -Nyendo MP Mathias Mpuuga Nsamba by virtue of powers conferred upon him as Leader of Oppostion under Article 82A (c) of the constitution of the Republic of Uganda and Rule 14 (2) of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament, had appointed and designated Hon. Ssemujju and Hon. Nsereko to the Shadow Cabinet but the two advised him not to dare, for they are not interested!
The two were among the top ranked best legislators of the 10th Parliament and it is believed, they bounced back majorly because of this. Nsereko contested for Deputy Speaker of the 10th Parliament and got 115 votes while Ssemujju has been serving as the Opposition chief whip.
LOP Mpuuga had identified the two but when he approached them before releasing the full shadow cabinet list, they advised him to find replacements for them as they were not ready to serve in his cabinet.

You all know, this time Ssemujju contested for Speakers of the 11th Parliament and Nsereko for the Deputy Speaker of the same.
However, the National Unity Platform (NUP) MPs who are the majority are said to have instead voted for NRM candidates which must have angered Ssemujju and Nsereko.
The race for Speakership was won by NRM official candidate Jacob Oulanyah with 310 votes. NRM 2nd vice chairperson Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga was second with 197 votes while of the opposition MPs who are more than 100, only 15 voted for Ssemujju which indicated that others voted for the two NRMs.
When it came to the deputy Speaker, it was won by NRM’s Anita Among with 415 votes. Opposition candidates Yusuf Nsibambi (Mawokota South MP) got only 35 votes while Muhammad Nsereko polled 24 votes.
Still, majority opposition MPs voted for the NRM Deputy Speaker candidate.
This didn’t go well with Ssemujju and Nsereko who openly branded a section of opposition MPs for being traitors to the struggle.
In a press interview shortly after the Speaker’s election, Hon. Ssemujju attacked opposition for betraying them.
Hon. Ssemujju said, “If my main constituency (Opposition) had immediate interest to serve, I would not even be asking the Opposition to vote for me. We would collectively be looking for votes. So the opposition MPs abandoned me.  Many became campaigners for Ms Kadaga.”
“If the Opposition had worked together, not just for me but also for the deputy, we would be an alternative to the NRM. There are people within the NRM who are not comfortable but we did not make them comfortable to join our side. The reason it became complicated was because the Opposition did not embrace this as an opposition assignment. Look at the Deputy Speaker race. It is what has made us so vulnerable that 120 Opposition MPs voted an NRM MP.” Said a betrayed Ssemujju. 
Ssemujju and Nsereko eagerly waited for a voice especially from the leaders of the official opposition party NUP but all were tight lipped.
“It is absurd but this has killed the spirit of unity among opposition MPs. You can’t leave your own and vote for NRM and the next day you tell the public that we are having a struggle? Which struggle then when you are betraying your own?” Asked MP Ssemujju camp.
It’s on this ground that Ssemujju and Nsereko allegedly rejected appointments to the Shadow cabinet saying opposition badly needed to steer the 11th Parliament not sharing shadow cabinet slots.
“If we had united, we would have surprised the tormentors. But it’s absurd our forces worked for the enemy. We have a lot of work to do, we will only call upon Ugandans to give us their support.” Said one of the opposition MPs who was part of the Nsereko camp.

Today evening, LOP Mpuuga finally announced his cabinet. There are 19 males and 11 females.
NUP has taken the lion’s share with18 slots, FDC 7, Independents 2, DP 1, UPC 1 and PPPP 1.
They are;
1.Hon. Wilfred Niwagaba  (Independent – Ndorwa East) Attorney General

  1. Hon. Shamim Malende (NUP – Kampala Woman MP) Justice & Constitutional Affairs 
  2. Hon. Muhammad Muwanga Kivumbi  (NUP – Butambala County) Finance, Planning & Economic Development
  3. Hon. Rose Fortunate Nantongo  (DP – Kyotera District Woman MP) Gender, Labour & Social Development 
  4. Hon. Atkins Katusabe  (FDC – Bukonzo West) Public Service
  5. Hon. Derrick Nyeko  (NUP – Makindye East) President & Security 
  6. Hon. Dr. Abed Bwanika (NUP – Kimaanya Kabonera) Agriculture 
  7. Hon. Brendah Nabukenya  (NUP – Luweero District Woman MP) Education 
  8. Hon. Jonathan Odur  (UPC – Erute South) Defence & Veteran Affairs
  9. Hon. Abdallah Kiwanuka  (NUP – Mukono North) Internal Affairs
  10. Hon. Dr. Timothy Batuwa (FDC – Jinja City West) Health 
  11. Hon. Yusuf Nsibambi  (FDC – Mawokota South) Works & Transport
  12. Hon. Abubaker Kawalya  (NUP – Lubaga North) Kampala Capital City Authority 
  13. Hon. Muwada Nkunyingi  (NUP – Kyadondo East) Foreign Affairs 
  14. Hon. Ronald Nsubuga Balimwezo  (NUP – Nakawa East) Lands, Housing & Urban Development.
  15. Hon. Asinasi Nyakato  (FDC – Hoima City Woman MP) Energy & Minerals
  16. Hon. Karem Masaba (Independent – Mbale Industrial Division) Tourism & Wildlife
  17. Hon. Frank Kabuye (NUP – Kassanda South) Youth & Children Affairs 
  18. Hon. Francis Mwijukye  (FDC-Buhweju) Trade & Industry
  19. Hon. Ethel Betty Naluyima  (NUP-Woman MP Wakiso district) Local Government 
  20. Hon. Hanifa Nabukeera  (NUP – Woman MP Mukono district) Human Rights 
  21. Hon. Christine Nakimwero Kaaya  (NUP-Woman MP Kiboga District) Water & Environment 
  22. Hon. Gorreth Namugga  (NUP-Mawogola County) Science, Innovation & Technology 
  23. Hon. Hillary Kiyaga  (NUP- Mawokota North) Culture & Performing Arts
  24. Hon. Anna Ebaju Adeke  (FDC-Soroti City Woman MP) Coperative & Microfinance 
  25. Hon. Joyce Bagala  (NUP-Mityana district Woman MP) Information & Anti-corruption
  26. Hon. Santa Okot  (PPP – Aruu North) Special regions: Luweero,Teso, Bunyoro, Northern Uganda & Karamoja  
  27. Hon. Gilbert Olanya  (FDC-Kilak) East African Community Affairs
  28. Hon. Charles Tebandeke  (NUP-Bbaale) Animal Industries & Fisheries
  29. Hon. Solo Godfrey Kayemba  (NUP-Bukomansimbi South) Sports.

For views/comments, send an sms on 0792735159


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here